Zoom, 02 November 2021 — 04 November 2021
David Aruquipa Pérez, Rasheeqa Ahmad, Edna Bonhomme, Mujeres Creando, Grace Dillon, Thiago De Paula Souza, Onyeka Igwe, Sage LaPena, Sonia M. Garcia and Tabita Rezaire
Book Now      →
The birth of Red, 2019, Joshua Chuquimia Crampton, colour pencil & watercolour on paper. Courtesy of the artist.

Daily at 7pm UTC / 3pm BOT / 12pm PDT

The Lake Before the Sun Was Born is a series of conversations on the occasion of Chuquimamani-Condori (Elysia Crampton Chuquimia) and Joshua Chuquimia Crampton’s exhibition Amaru’s Tongue: Daughter. Engaging with themes emerging from Amaru’s Tongue: Daughter and its broader context, artists, curators, scholars, archivists, and herbalists will explore land ties, herbalism, Indigenous spacetime, oral history and the archive, abolition and activism.

Speakers will include: Rasheeqa Ahmad, Edna Bonhomme, Mujeres Creando, Grace Dillon, Sonia M. Garcia, Onyeka Igwe, Sage LaPena, David Aruquipa Pérez, Tabita Rezaire and Thiago De Paula Souza

Tickets are pay what you can, all profits will be donated to Land In Our Names, a grassroots Black-led collective committed to reparations in Britain by connecting land and climate justice with racial justice.

Programmed by Ignota Books and Auto Italia in cooperation with NTS Radio. The programme has been made possible with the support of Goethe Institut London and Canada House.

Read the full programme below:

The Lake Before the Sun Was Born: Abolition and Solidarity

The Lake Before the Sun Was Born: Herbalism and Land Ties

The Lake Before the Sun Was Born: Archive and Spacetime